U.S. Army Administrative Promotion Points for E-5/E-6

Awards, Decorations, Achievements and Badges

U.S. Army soldiers can be the recipients of a variety of awards, decorations, achievements, Personal Fitness Test (PFT) scores, and badges for their military service, especially when defending the country in times of conflict.

The goal of the Army's award program is to enhance mission accomplishments by identifying excellence of both military and civilian members of the force and motivating them to high levels of performance and service.

The awards program allows for an objective grading method for soldiers in the Army in promotable status. A new system of promotion points was developed in 2011 and updated in 2015.

Multiply the number of points authorized by the number of awards received:

Awards and Medals

 Soldier’s Medal or higher award/decoration   40
 Bronze Star Medal with “V” Device  35
 Bronze Star Medal  30
 Purple Heart   30
 Defense Meritorious Service Medal  25
 Meritorious Service Medal     25
 Air Medal with “V” Device      25
 Army Commendation Medal with “V” Device   25
 Air Medal    20
 Joint Service Commendation Medal      20
 Army Commendation Medal   20
 Joint Service Achievement Medal     10
 Army Achievement Medal    10
 Good Conduct Medal           10
 Army Reserve Component Achievement Medal    10
 Armed Forces Reserve Medal (with or without “M” Device)   10
 Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal      10

Badge Promotion Points

 Combat Infantry Badge            30
 Combat Medical Badge      30
 Combat Action Badge    30
 Expert Infantry Badge   30
 Expert Field Medical Badge      30
 Master Parachute Badge     20
 Master Explosive Ordnance Disposal Badge     20
 Senior Parachute Badge     15
 Senior Explosive Ordnance Disposal Badge      15
 Presidential Service Badge    15
 Vice President Service Badge      15
 Drill Sergeant Badge    15
 Basic US Army Recruiter Badge    15
 Parachute Badge   10
 Parachute Badge   10
 Parachute Rigger Badge   10
 Divers badge   10  
 Basic Explosive Ordnance Disposal Badge   10
 Pathfinder Badge   10
 Air Assault Badge   10
 Aircraft Crewman Badge    10
 Secretary of Defense Service Badge  10
 Joint Chiefs of Staff Identification Badge  10
 Army Staff Identification Badge   10
 Space Badge  10
 Tomb Guard Identification Badge   10
 Driver and Mechanic Badge      10

Point Values

As you advance your training and skills throughout your career, points for some badges increase. For instance, the basic parachute badge is 10 points, the senior parachute badge is 15 points, and the master parachute badge is 20 points.

Promotion points increase through the following levels: Basic recruiting is worth 15 points, Gold recruiting is worth 20 points, and Master recruiting is worth 20 points toward advancement and promotion.

Hazardous Duty Points

The Hazardous Duty specialty gains extra points due to the danger involved. A basic parachutist can receive an extra 20 points, a senior parachutist can receive an extra 25 points, and a master parachutist can receive an additional 30 points when in hazardous duty areas conducting difficult training or real-world combat missions.

Certificates of Achievement

Certain specific achievements are awarded the following points:

 Soldier/NCO of the Quarter – BDE Level   10
 Soldier/NCO of the Quarter  15
 Soldier/NCO of the Year – MACOM  25
 Distinguished Honor Graduate   15
 Distinguished Leadership Award   10
 Commandants List   5

The Army Good Conduct Medal (AGCM)

For three years of faithful service by exhibiting exemplary conduct, efficiency, and fidelity, enlisted members are eligible for the Army Good Conduct Medal. However, if the term of service being reviewed for advancement does not meet the three-year term to be eligible for the AGCM, the added points cannot be used for the current promotion board.

The period of service is used to determine eligibility for promotion points (orders issued late do not result in a retroactive promotion point adjustment). The date of the order or ending period, whichever is later, will be used to determine eligibility for promotion points on all remaining awards, such as the Army Achievement Medal, Army Commendation Medal, or Meritorious Service Medal.

Awards and decorations earned in other U.S. Uniformed Services receive the same points as corresponding/ equivalent Army awards. An online calculator is available to determine your promotion/advancement number.